top of page
  • Writer's pictureBilingual ESL

District Leadership: Digital Note-taking for School Leaders


Contributing Writer: Mrs. Yolanda Turbeville

Principal at Raquel Peña Elementary

Ever notice how busy we are as administrators?

In our profession, it is a necessity to keep good notes. We are busy with all the everyday interruptions of unscheduled meetings or conferences. Keeping our notes in one place is a difficult task, as most of the time we are not in the office. I have always practiced writing down notes that can trigger my memory of my everyday activity. For over 20 years, I kept a notebook with dates, interactions, and brief summaries to help me document or help me remember. In this notebook you could find post it notes, business cards, or other tangible items that need a place in my busy schedule. Most years I had 2 notebooks; what a nightmare when I need to find a particular entry. I knew there had to be a smarter, more productive way. Like many others I am not a technology native, and letting go of my written entries was not going to be easy. I tried telling myself I would ease into it last year, but went back to my notebook because it was comfortable.

During the 2017 summer, I decided to dive in and started looking into different programs that could assist me in note-taking in a more effective manner. Evernote was a good fit for my needs, since it helped me capture my ideas and save information without paper. Nowadays, we all tend to have a difficult time separating from our device. Before you run into your next activity don't forget your technology device.

Here are some cool facts about Evernote and the positive impact it has made in my professional and personal life. · Accessibility is free on two devices, easy to use, security password protected, and you can connect with your Google drive. · Unlimited notebooks are offered, with endless pages. Build in spell-check, flexibility to insert pictures or articles. Opportunity to share your notes with others and the best thing you can search! · Here are two sites that can give you more information: https://help.evernote.com/hc/en-us/articles/208314478-Take-notes https://zapier.com/blog/how-to-use-evernote/ · Download the app https://evernote.com/download

196 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page